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Continuing our irregular series of questions and answers on some of the rules that we’re most often asked to clarify

If you’ve got any questions about Warhammer Fantasy Battle, or any of our other games systems, please send them in to
White Dwarf at the Design Studio address — mark the envelope clearly saying which game the questions concern. We can’t
answer all the letters we get In the detall we’d like, but we’ll try to cover the most commonly raised points in further

Questions and Answers articles in White Dwarf.

WAR MACHINES
Can War Machines fire at a flying target?

Cannon cannot fire at an aerial target as they have insufficient
clevation. The only exception is the Jezzail, which is small enough 1o
be pointed upwards and which is treated as if it were a large anquebus
or crossbow in this respect.

Mortars and Stone Throwing Engines cannot fire at aerial targets.
Although their missiles fly through the air, it is impossible to aim
them against a flying target.

Bolt Throwing Engines can be used against acrial targets. They have
a relatively flat projectory and can be aimed against a flying target in
a similar manner to a crossbow or arquebus.

Flame Cannon and Fire Throwers cannot be used against acrial
targets — the flame would quickly fall to earth with potentially
unpleasant consequences for the crew!

A Bazuka Rocket Launcher or Skyrocket can be fired against a
flying target but must score a direct hit to have any effect. Rockets
which miss have no further effect — they cither expend their charge
and fall harmlessly to the ground, explode in mid-air, or are duds.

WEDGE FORMATIONS

In a wedge formation, does the first rank fight along with the
second once the enemy’s first line Is penetrated? Similariy, do the
first and second wedge ranks fight with the third rank against the
enemy'’s third line, and so on for subsequent ranks?

Each model in the wedge fights only once. The first wedge rank fights
against the models engaged in the first encmy line. If the first rank
wins then the second rank fights the second line, If the second rank
wins the third rank fights the third line, and so on until the enemy
formation is penetrated and routed or the wedge doesn't win and is
forced back into a normal formation. This is why it's so important to
have a hero or fairly powerful model at the head of the wedge.

HEROES

A Hero Is fighting in hand-to-hand combat. The model s in base-
to-base contact with two enemy models, but causes sufficlent
Wounds to kiil three. Does he kill three enemy or Just two?

He kills three. These may conveniently be assumed 10 be the two in
contact plus any other model adjacent to cither casualty. The player
suffering the casualties may decide which model to remove. It is
assumed that the third casualry steps in to fill the gap left by his fallen
comrades and is cut down for his trouble! Once the combat round is
over, models may be moved to fill gaps in the line as normal,
effectively shifting casualties to the sides or rear.
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'REFORMING

When Is it necessary for a unit to reform? Do characters have to
reform?

A unit must reform when it becomes unformed! A unit becomes
unformed if:

1 Itcharges but fails to contact an enemy.
2 Itanempis and fails a manoeuvre during a charge.

3 It charges and contacts an enemy formation at an angle
of more than 22'4°.

4 A pnit ends pursuit of a routed enemy, or ceases pursuit
because all routing enemy are slain.

An unformed unit spends its entire next movement stationary
and reforming. Alternatively it may retire as explained on p133 of
Warhammer Fantasy Battle. If charged, the unit must take the charge
ulh:hﬂ;hucmmmmoddlmfaocthe enemy. A unit which is
pushed back in hand-to-hand combat whilst unformed is
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hand-t0-hand combat is automatically reformed. Unformed units also
suffer a -1 penalty on their Ld, Int, Cl and WP characteristics.

Character models which are associated with units are subject to the
unformed rules along with the rest of the unit. They have joined the
ranks and so suffer when the unit’s formation is lost and other troopers
get in their way and push them aside. Individual character models
which are not associated with a unit are not subject 10 the unformed
rules and are never affected by them.

AMULETIC STANDARDS

Does an Amuletic Standard afTect a Vortex of Chaos, Fetld Cloud,
or Ravine?

If a Vortex of Chaos hits a unit carrying an Amuletic Standard, the
Vortex is instantly dispelled. Similarly, if the unit moves into a Fetid
Cloud, if the Cloud moves onlo the unit, or if a Cloud is cast against
the unit, the Fetid Cloud is dispelled.

In the case of a Ravine spell, the situation is more complex. The
Ravine is not dispelled if it crosses the unit but the unit is not affected
cither. The ground beneath the troops in the unit solidifies so long as
they stand on it, but opens up again as soon as they move off.

SNOTLINGS

How many ranks do Snotilngs count as to cannon fire?

A base of Snotlings is counted as 3 ranks of troops when fired at by
cannon. This is imrespective of the actual number of Snotlings or their
formation on the base.



